Monday, June 25, 2012

A tough childhood is no excuse for bad behavior!

If there is one thing I get really tired of it must be listening to people with no social skills, honor, manners, or even the smallest sense of how to interact with others use the excuse of having had a rough childhood.

Each time I read yet another article about an abusive person blaming his parents for his lack of empathy for others, I would love to teach them just how much empathy someone should have for them in adulthood. If you were abused as a child wouldn't you assume that you don't want to put your own children through that horror? If you grew up with an alcoholic parent and saw first hand what it can do to the person, wouldn't you do your best to stay away from this sort of behavior?

I know the psychological reason that is given over and over again. That is all they knew! Well great and fine, but don't try to tell me that they weren't around other people who weren't in that situation and saw the flip side as well. Don't tell me they don't know that what they are doing is wrong.

No blaming everyone but yourself for poor behavior is so much easier. Breaking the cycle takes some effort and goodness forbid that effort would be made. I don't even know anymore why we condone this sort of action. I do know so that we as a society turn our head away from it and try our best not to get involved. If it isn't happening to us then I guess it is not our business.

Well let me ask you this. If it was your daughter or son getting the living lights beaten out of them by an abusive partner, would you still think it is none of your business? Nobody deserves to be abused! In no shape or form. Yes, I agree there are some very nasty pieces of work out there and it takes all the strength in the world not to hit them, but you have a choice. You have the choice to walk away instead.

If your relationship is that toxic that you can't even stand the sight of your partner anymore - leave! Don't beat them just to make yourself feel better. Two wrongs don't make a right. Never have and never will.
Think of what you are showing to your children when you do that. Do you really think this sort of behavior doesn't affect them? It does, trust me. They see it and they will take it as a role model. With that we are back to square one of this article.

Being a bully doesn't make you a big man or a big woman. It makes you a low esteem coward. When you have to pick on people who you think are weaker, smaller, less aggressive as you, just to prove that you are the big Kahuna it just shows you have no clue what it means to be an adult or a great man/woman.

I find it so sad when I watch this sort of behavior. I am horrified by what we as human beings allow ourselves to be treated as. I am not sure there is anything worth in this world that will justify allowing yourself to be a victim for long. Love? Well if you are being abused in any form you are not being loved. You have to wake up to the reality that it won't get better either.

Abusers don't see themselves that way. They don't think they are doing anything wrong. Just listen to their constant excuses they make for their poor behavior. If someone doesn't see the fault, they are not going to be willing to fix it.

*sighs*

When exactly did we leave the brains behind?

Have you noticed that people seem to get dumber or is it just me? Maybe I am the one that is left behind in the times, but since when do you start a conversation with a potential client online with internet speech?

Internet speech? Yes that lovely habit of people to shorten every word to letters. So instead of "How are you?" which is perfectly polite you now see "hru?" To me that just sounds like some sort of weird sickness that I should have checked out by the closest doctor. Needless to say I took my business somewhere else in a hurry.

When did we start needing 10 minutes and a calculator to do basic and I mean average 3rd Grade math? Think I am kidding? I went to a fast food restaurant in my area the other day and their register was broken or down. My meal came up to $4.59 and I gave the girl behind the counter a $10.00 bill. Ok come on now, do you really need a calculator for that? Apparently so, because she actually pulled one out and used it to come up with the correct change. I was almost afraid to accept the food, just in case the cooks lost their recipe book or something.

Oh and not to mention having to call my insurance company 4 times to try to make a payment. As if having to pay bills is not sad enough, having to hassle with someone on the other line who doesn't seem to understand even basic English is over the top annoying. I understand that not everyone is a native English speaker, but for crying out loud if you work for an insurance company where at least 40% of your customer base is still American (at least I am guessing they are since they are in the USA) wouldn't you try hiring someone who can speak English at least enough to take a payment? I know I would, but eh!

Most of the things are all common sense stuff. You don't have to be a scientist or have a 140 IQ to figure them out, yet more and more I am shaking my head at people who seem to struggle with even the simplest things.

If you have an online store that sells customized items and in the Terms of Service it clearly states that a partial payment is required before you even start the job and since it is customized you will not be able to return it for a full refund if you changed your mind. Up to and including telling the potential customer exactly what acceptable return policy is, would you not assume that the client would understand it and not come of with: "Oh I didn't realize I had to pay xyz up front. I want you to make it to my specifications and if I decide to buy it I'll send you the money!" I don't think so!

Yes, our economy is bad, but that does not give anyone the excuse to try to be impossible to deal with or try to waste a craft persons time with stupidity.
We are all trying to make a living somehow, at least again I am assuming so.

We wonder why our society is in such a hole, well maybe that is the reason. It takes at least semi-intelligent behavior in order to continue on.

Of course what do we expect when we are being force fed with images and stories of high profile people acting as if they just crawled out of the primordial ooze. If those are our role models for our young, I fear to see where this is going.